My REAL New Year’s Resolution

I’ve always had a love-hate relationship with New Year’s Resolutions. On the love side, it’s a wonderful idea to think of ways to better yourself. Yet on the hate side, I think that New Year’s Resolutions put too much pressure on ourselves to prove a point versus actually improving our lives. That said, I think everyone thinks of ways that would fulfill their lives more in 2016, myself included.

So here’s some of my “New Year’s Resolutions.”

  • Read 24 books this year. Two per month is a great goal!
  • Complete the Couch to 5K…then complete the 5K to 10K!
  • Lose the 30 pounds I lost before then promptly gained back.
  • Make yourself leave at 5:00 at least three times a week!
  • Travel more to see your friends and family!
  • Substitute an hour of what you’d normally fill with TV with reading, calling someone on the phone, or running!

See? I want to do things that make myself feel better – I want to be healthy! But then I got to thinking….what if I don’t read 24 books this year? What if I don’t even complete a 1/2K? What if I don’t travel at all? What if I watch 10 seasons of Supernatural in two months?  What if I gain 30 pounds instead of losing them? The answer I came up with?? I would feel like I had failed myself.

Obviously, that answer didn’t really make me think that I was thinking of was to fulfill my life. This inspired me to look at myself, and think, “Are you truly unhappy with the fact that you eat more cookies than carrots? Are you truly unhappy with the fact that you’ve watched Friends all day instead of putting three layers on to try to work up a sweat in 20 degree weather?” And the answer to that question is NO!!! So after realizing this, my resolutions got a rewrite:

  • Read however many books I read this year. Maybe I’ll read 2 books a month…and maybe I’ll read 1/2 a book a month.
  • Complete the Couch to 5K if I want to. Running feels great, and I love it….if I want to do it, I will.
  • Try to eat healthier….but if you want a cupcake, then good gracious eat a cupcake.
  • Spend more time with my friends and family and less at work. If I can. Life is busy, work is busy…so sometimes, time itself doesn’t happen.
  • Continue binge-watching my way through Friends and Criminal Minds, all the while going to the movie theater a few times a month, eating A LOT of popcorn with Milk Duds, and purposely forgetting to do my laundry.

I think we get caught up with ourselves too often. We are always focusing on ways we are failing ourselves, instead of appreciating ways we are proud of ourselves. I am proud to admit I can bake three-four types of cookies without once looking at a recipe. I am proud to say I watched 16 episodes of Grey’s Anatomy  in one day. And I’m proud to say that I love my job enough to spend more than the “required” amount of time at it.

If I had to pick one “New Year’s Resolution,” that I really want to stick with, it would be to make more lists like my second one. Because the second list is real life, and that’s the only type I’ve life I’m interested in living.

Leave a Reply

