Top 6 Movie Releases of 2016

Tonight was THE NIGHT that I was going to write about Books.  It makes me so sad that the book bar at the top of my page doesn’t lead to any posts. But then I sat down in my comfy comfy recliner, I couldn’t see my bookshelves, and I didn’t feel like getting out of my cocoon, so I decided to write about movies instead.

Like every year, there are certain movies that I can’t wait, and I mean CANNOT WAIT for, and 2016 is no different.  Without further ado, here are the Top 6 movies I’m most looking forward to in 2016, from least amount of excitement to most amount of excitement. These are all complete with trailers……all at once now, oooooohhhh.

Number 6 – Captain America: Civil War (May 6)

I know this may seem shocking to some that it’s not higher up on my list, especially with Captain America being my favorite Avenger and Chris Evans being my favorite human, but hear me out. Yes, this looks absolutely incredible. Winter Soldier was arguably the best movie in the MCU (Marvel Cinematic Universe) thus far, so I’m thrilled that they’re continuing the story in Civil War. That said, we’ve had a lot of MCU movies. Ant Man, Guardians, 2 Caps, 3 Iron Mans, 2 Thors, 2 Avengers….I don’t want them to stop making them, but I do think they all kinda run together. This looks more like an Avengers 2.5 than a full Captain America movie to me, and for that, I’m more excited for other films this year.

Number 5 – X-Men: Apocalypse (May 27)

I am not a comic book reader, and only watched the first two of the original X-Men trilogy.  But working at a movie theater a few years ago allowed me to broaden my spectrum of movie genres to go see, and I therefore went to X-Men: First Class. LOVED. IT.  I became a major fan of the world (James McAvoy helped out a lot), and X-Men: Days of Future Past was absolutely incredible. So, I’m beyond pumped for Apocalypse.

Number 4 – My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 (March 25)

When I found out this was happening, I watched the trailer five times in a row and excitedly in all caps tweeted about it and tweeted some more. I loved Big Fat Greek Wedding so much, and I am so excited for the sequel. They got all the cast back, even the extended family members, and it’s just going to be such a fun movie to go see with my mom. As with most of these movies, the male lead has been part of my excitement, and John Corbett is no exception. Hottie ❤

Number 3 – Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice (March 25)

I’m just going to leave you with my reaction when I saw the teaser trailer..and the second trailer..and this trailer. “OH MY GOD BATMAN BATMAN HENRY CAVILL’S ABS LEX LUTHOR BATMAN SUPERMAN WONDER WOMAN BATMAN IS THIS REAL LIFE BEN AFFLECK OH MY GOOD GRACIOUS I CAN’T THE FEELINGS ALL THE FEELS.” Also, Team Batman.

Number 2 – Finding Dory (June 17)

Dory is back and my 13 year old self is rejoicing! I think that I have been waiting almost as long as Ellen has for Finding Dory to be a real life movie. It’s been 13 years….THIRTEEN! It’s insane, but I’m almost thankful for it, because it will make it that much better. I’ve also grown to love Ellen Degeneres so much more in the last 13 years, and that’s made me more excited on different levels for this movie. Can’t wait!

Number 1 – Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (November 18)

It’s Harry Potter. Set in 1920s New York. With Eddie Redmayne. And I repeat, Harry Potter. Any movie that has anything at all to do with the book series that changed my life will automatically jump to the top top top of any list. It’s unfortunate that it’s not out until November, but it’s exciting that it’s released nine days before my birthday!

There you have it! Top 6 Movies I’m looking forward to this year, but certainly not the only six I’ll be watching. What movies are you most looking forward to?

One thought on “Top 6 Movie Releases of 2016

  1. Absolutely agree with your number 1! I can’t wait!

    Others I’m looking forward to: Suicide Squad, the new Star Trek, Tarzan (Skarsgard abs oh my!), the female Ghostbusters remake, and Doctor Strange.

    Like

Leave a Reply

