Birthstone Book Tag

It’s time, it’s time! Finally a post about books! I LOVE BOOKS. I follow multiple people on Youtube that talk about books, and one of my favorites is Bookables. She was recently tagged in this book tag, and I loved it. I thought it was the perfect start to book posts on my blog. Check out the Bookables video HERE.  The Birthstone Book Tag is where you pick a book based on what each month’s birthstone is associated with. Here we go!

f15_birthstone_monthly_cp

January (GARNET) My Dad’s Birthstone!
Associated with warding off negative forces and dark energies – Name a book with the darkest/evilest character you can think of.
For this one, Bellatrix Lestrange takes the cake. I always thought she was far more terrifying than Voldemort. Her character just took evil to a whole new level, and Helena Bonham Carter KILLED the role, but with that came even more fright from me.

February (AMETHYST)
Purple is associated with royalty – Name a book with regal qualities… You can base this off of characters of choose the King of all books.
The Lunar Chronicles! This series is made up of Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, & Winter, and I absolutely loved all four books. What an interesting take on a dystopian universe, and the way that each book tied into the others while still maintaining separate protagonists and plots was so well done. The reason it’s chosen for February is because many of the characters are Royals!!!

March (AQUAMARINE)
Washed out – Name a ‘wishy washy’ character, a character who is not strong or a follower
I think the idea of this birthstone is that it’s water, and this was the tie in to that. Either way – sorry to March babies. Wishy washy isn’t necessarily a great adjective. But since it’s the tag, I picked a character, and that character is Margo Roth Spiegelman from Paper Towns. Gosh I don’t like this character. She’s honestly kind of a horrible person who only thinks about herself, gets others to care without telling them anything, then she tells them they shouldn’t have cared….ridiculous person.

April (DIAMOND)
A diamond in the rough – Name a book that you loved but is not well known
I’m pretty sure April has the best birthstone if you’re a girl. Diamonds ARE a girl’s best friend!! For this birthstone, I picked “All We Know of Heaven,” by Jacqueline Mitchard. I really haven’t met anyone or seen any videos or blogs that mention this book, but I absolutely loved it. I read it in middle school, and it instantly became one of my favorites. Check it out. You won’t regret it.

May (EMERALD)
Said to balance energy – Name two characters who balance each other well
I think Rose & Lissa from The Vampire Academy balance each other out well. They each provide what the other needs, plus they have intense loyalty toward the other.

June (PEARL) Best friend Caitlin’s birthstone!
Associated with loyalty – Name a character who is loyal to the end
I honestly couldn’t pick just one character for this, because of the Harry Potter books. How does one pick between Snape, Dumbledore, Sirius, Dobby, Hedwig, Remus, Tonks, and so many others??? So, because I couldn’t choose, I decided to include all that died in the War against Voldemort in the Harry Potter series. May they all rest in peace. Always.

July (RUBY) Mom & Chance (the brother) & Grandpa’s birthstone!
Blood red – Name a book that made your blood boil, one that made you angry
This was really difficult. Very few books I’ve read actually make me angry. Sure, I’ve had books that I dislike, but not because I was angry. I finally picked “New Moon,” of the Twilight series, because when I read it as a senior in high school, it did really make me angry. I hated Bella and loved Edward, and in this book, it was almost all Bella and no Edward. Hence, anger.  Well, high school senior anger that is.

August (PERIDOT) Grandma’s birthstone!
Pale green (it pales in comparison to other gems) – Name a supporting character who you like better than the main character
I’ve never really been the biggest fan of Katniss Everdeen. She’s great, but I just connected with other characters more. I thought about picking Gale or Peeta, but I consider them main characters, so I picked Haymitch. I think he far surpasses Katniss as a character, and especially when it’s transferred to screen.

September (SAPPHIRE)
Blue like the ocean which is calming – Name a book that had a calming affect on you
“A Little Something Different,” was so good. It was such an interesting love story told in such a fun way, and it’s a quick read that just puts you in a good mood.

October (OPAL) My uncle & cousin’s birthstone!
Name an iridescent book, this can be a book with a beautiful cover (Shiny? Lots of color?) or you can base it off of a character (Quirky? Colorful?)
I decided to base this off of a quirky character, and the character I chose was Cath from “Fangirl.” She just has a quirky personality!

November (TOPAZ) MY BIRTHSTONE!!! ❤
Associated with resilience – Name a books with a character who rises to the top in a time of adversity
I’m going to give a shoutout to Topaz. I used to think it was an ugly brown that I was beyond frustrated with, but I’ve grown to embrace it and love it (much like my gradual acceptance as a Slytherin). I also love that it stand for resilience. I picked what will probably be an interesting pick…the Baudelaire children from A Series of Unfortunate Events. They went through some bad stuff man, but they always came through.

December (BLUE ZIRCON) My aunt and cousin’s birthstone!
Associated with friendship – Name a book with a friendship you want to be apart of
What other characters could I possibly pick for this question than the trio themselves, Harry Potter, Hermione Granger, & Ron Weasley?  Love me some HP, and love me some trio. They’re simply the definition of friend goals.

There you have it!! One of my favorite tags I’ve seen lately, and extremely fun to write! I’m so excited that I finally get to categorize a post under “Books,” even if it was really long. Until next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

