Tale as Old as Time…

So, as you could gather from My Disney Favs, I LOVE Belle from Beauty and the Beast. Beauty and the Beast is also tied for my second favorite Disney movie (with The Little Mermaid). Since Disney announced they were making a live-action remake, I have been crazy excited. THEN, they cast Emma Watson aka Hermione Granger as Belle. I didn’t think I could be more excited after that. But THENNNN they released the teaser trailer.

Oh. My. Goodness. There’s just too much good to say about this trailer. I think I’ve watched it, oh, about 30 times since it dropped? It got immediately added to my Youtube favorites list, and I watch it once a day (yeah, I have no life). So let’s talk about it.

The music is the same hauntingly beautiful melody that weaves a web of mystery and intrigue around the story. With those notes, you are exposed to the first look of the architecture and castle of the live-action version. It’s got a darker tone than I expected, so that just adds to the intrigue. The following minute or so gives you a tiny glimpse of the beast (or at least him scratching out a portrait), lets you hear Lumiere and Cogsworth, and best of all, gives you that tiny peek of Belle. If it wasn’t perfect casting before, hearing Ian McKellen & Ewan McGregor as Cogworth & Lumiere AND seeing Emma Watson kill it as Belle totally solidifies it.

I really could only find one negative thing about this entire trailer.  And that’s the release date of the movie. A full ten and a half months more, but I trust the wait will be well worth it. If you haven’t watched the trailer, then do yourself a favor and click play. Then put it on repeat. Til next March (or at least until the next trailer).

Leave a Reply

