High School Jams

So I’m sitting in my house, minding my own…and here comes the damn mouse. Small backstory on the mouse: I thought there was one about a month ago, then it disappeared and showed no evidence of there ever being one, and tonight there it was again. I saw it out of the corner of my eye…opened my pantry to get some popcorn, and BOOM out the mouse comes. Ahhhhhh I don’t do well with this crap. I’m honestly thinking about putting on my online dating profile, “Just looking for someone to get rid of the mouse,” and calling it good.

Fast forward to the rest of my evening. I am sitting down watching Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I was on facebook and David Archuleta put something on his facebook page, so then I decided to jam out to a little David Archuleta a la 2008. THIS then inspired me to jam out to songs from my past. I looked up the Billboard Top 100 for each year I was in high school (2005-2009), looked up the Country #1s from each year, threw in a couple of my favs that I remember, and voila!, a new Spotify playlist was born.

A few notes on some of the songs (not all of them, but some):

Behind These Hazel Eyes, Kelly Clarkson: Girllllll sing! This music video was so good too.
You & Me, Lifehouse: This was my high school boyfriend and I’s song. Rest in Peace, our baby relationship.
Anything sung by Usher: I will listen to you forever, Usher.
I Don’t Wanna Be, Gavin DeGraw: I LOVE ONE TREE HILL.
Beautiful Soul, Jesse McCartney: “I don’t want another pretty face…”
Settle for a Slowdown, Dierks Bentley: This was on repeat through my whole missions trip between sophomore & junior year.
Over My Head (Cable Car), The Fray: Love love love.
So Sick, Neyo: OH MY GOODNESS I FORGOT THIS SONG EXISTED I LOVE IT SO MUCH
Far Away, Nickelback: I listened to this song every single morning for an entire year. Just ask my brother.
Crush, David Archuleta: My friend Kady and I rocked out to this song too many times to count.
Makes Me Wonder, Maroon 5: First song I ever downloaded as a ringtone on my first phone!
Sexy Can I, Ray J feat Yung Berg: Oh man, I was so proud of knowing all the words to this song, but it’s so dirty.
Party in the USA, Miley Cyrus: Everyone loved this damn song. With a dream and a cardigan….

Enjoy! I can’t wait to listen to this at work tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

