26 Things I’ve Learned in 26 Years

First things first – Christmas update on the blog! I love this holiday so much, and I did most of my Christmas decorating in my house today. I’m finishing up my birthday with a cheesy Christmas movie, and decking my blog out in Christmas just seemed like the natural thing to do.

Second things second – the mouse is DEAD! My friend Jacob was here and set good old wooden traps, and it got caught within a day and I AM SO HAPPY!!! The journey was documented in a five part facebook live series, and thank goodness it’s (hopefully) over.

Third things third – it’s my birthday (well it was when I started writing this…it won’t be when I post it)! I’m officially 26 years old now. It’s the last year of my mid twenties and first year of my late twenties, and I’m not totally sure how I feel about it. It’s been a lovely day. I have a great family and group of friends that are far too good to me.

I was watching one of my new youtuber’s videos the other day, and she posted this one not too long ago. Watch it and then read on.

I loved it, so I decided for my 26th, I’m going to share 26 Things I’ve Learned in 26 Years!

  1. Don’t go to sleep with your hair wet (Yep, stole this one from the video, but it’s so true).
  2. Find your perfect Sonic happy hour drink.
  3. There is no such thing as having too many plush throw blankets, and don’t let anyone ever tell you different.
  4. Music can heal you. Let it.
  5. There’s no good reason to pee outside when indoor plumbing is an option.
  6. You have to  be happy with yourself first before you can cultivate any meaningful relationship (romantic or otherwise).
  7. You can learn something every day, if you just try.
  8. Mouse proof your house. Even if you don’t think you need to.
  9. Friendships are a two way street. Don’t be upset with someone for not reaching out to you if you haven’t reached out to them.
  10. Reach out to your friends. Build your support system.
  11. Find a friend that will tell you the harsh truth, because the time you least want to hear it is the time you will need to hear it the most.
  12. Don’t bite your nails.
  13. Respect others for having opinions that are different than yours and lead different lifestyles than you do. This world takes all kinds of kinds.
  14. It’s perfectly acceptable to cry yourself to sleep as an adult.
  15. Dance in your car to whatever music you have on as often as you possibly can, especially at stoplights.
  16. The world owes you nothing. But you owe yourself everything. Work hard to be the best version of yourself, and never stop trying to figure out who that is.
  17. Pray.
  18. Call your mom. And answer when she calls you.
  19. Make a budget and try as hard as you can to stick to it, but don’t fault yourself if this takes a few tries to get right.
  20. Learn to cook a few meals by yourself.
  21. Eat Mexican food a bare minimum of three times a month.
  22. Disney & Taylor Swift singalongs can always always always make a bad day better.
  23. Try to start each day with a cheerful attitude and smile on your face.
  24. When you pack to go somewhere, triple check your bag for underwear.
  25. Don’t wear a glittery sweater to the airport.
  26. Figure out what’s important to you, and make sure those around you know what that is by living an authentic life.

There you have it! A few nuggets that I’ve learned as I continue the trek through my twenties!

15181575_10209023845691828_1872471271686047271_n

Leave a Reply

