Batman & Jesus

This morning, I was up early…we’re talking way early, about 5:45 AM. Not my favorite thing in the world to do, but it was for a good reason. Church!  I got up, and I kid you not, before I even went to the bathroom, I went to my kitchen and poured some coffee into my biggest coffee cup, my Batman one!

As I was getting ready, I naturally checked twitter, and tweeted this one out:

Capture

Yes, you read that right. I compared Batman to Jesus. Honestly, I tweeted it because I thought it was funny, I was tired, and it popped into my head as I was drinking out of my Batman cup. I’ve thought about it over and over today because of quite a few reasons.

Part of my journey with my faith is that constant worry about what others think about it. Do they think I’m a “good enough” Christian? Is it okay that I don’t ready my Bible very often and only have one? Is it okay that sometimes my only source of worship for the day, week, sometimes month is listening to K-Love in my car? These thoughts don’t come into my mind that much, because my church and friends I’ve met through there are the most welcoming and accepting people I’ve ever met, but sometimes they creep in. So you can see why these questions may have popped into my head since I compared our risen Saviour to a comic book character.

But THEN! I thought some more, and really….what I said wasn’t totally off base. Not when you think about it. Batman and Jesus do have similarities. Both were a source of hope when things were tough. Both had many followers and enemies alike. Both still have fierce, loyal, and faithful believers that gather together to celebrate their legacy.  As I mentioned in my tweet, both rose from the dead. So my tweet that was meant to be lighthearted and funny ended up being more true than I thought.

I know that one strikingly obvious difference between Batman & Jesus is that Batman is fictional and Jesus isn’t. But what I found out as I was going through the question of “Should I have tweeted that?” all day long is that it’s okay to draw similarities between nonfictional and fictional characters, especially if that’s what will grow someone’s relationship with God. For me, the most honest way to be a Christian is to be authentic and genuine in your faith through who you are. My favorite verse that’s on the sidebar of my blog emphasizes this:

“Don’t let anyone think less of you because you are young. Be an example to all believers in what you say, in the way you live, in your love, your faith, and your purity.” –1 Timothy 4:12

My name is Torey Nicole Berndt. I’m 26 years old, have iced mocha coffee for breakfast every morning, and my favorite superhero is Batman. I’m also a Christian. And while my faith walk is a consistent journey that changes from day to day, I do know three things. I’m always going to need coffee at 5:45 AM, I’m always going to love Batman & Jesus, and I’m always going to keep it real.

unnamed

Leave a Reply

