Unexpected Motivation

I ran my 5K this morning! Three+ years ago, I trained and ran for a 5K in 33:35. Fast forward 3+ years and flip flop fitness (read this for that story), and I ran another 5K! I cut almost a full minute off my time, and got 32:36!

Thoughts post 5K:

  • You can always run longer than you think you can.
  • Getting the negative split that you train on is next to impossible when you start with 50 other runners.
  • When you realize you’re pacing faster on both mile 1 and mile 2 than you have been in training, running mile 3 scares the hell out of you.
  • Mile 3 (and the .1) is REALLY HARD.
  • Running to the right playlist changes lives.
  • Mental toughness is the biggest hurdle to get over during the run. Get over your brain, and the run is the easy part.

20108416_10211059505262045_7824207412882733597_n

Naturally, I had to post a picture. I actually posted a picture collage that included a running picture, but it was NOT very flattering, so this was the one I deemed appropriate for the facebook profile pic. I’ve been opening it all day (if you want facebook likes, just run a 5K!), and as I kept looking at the picture, I noticed my bib number.

240. Really just a random number to used to keep track of me and make sure my timer number matches my bib number. But 240 is just short of my weight that I started this crazy roller coaster ride with. Through six+ months of watching the calories, yelling at olive oil, getting up early for Zumba, saying NO to vices I used to say yes to, working out 4-6 times every week, giving up Diet Dr Pepper, running, and so much more, I am within three pounds of my original goal weight of 200, PLUS working on the next set of weight loss goals.

I’ve not been the greatest at progress pictures during this journey. And while this picture has nothing to do with physical progress, what a great representation of before and after. What a great representation of being able to see how far I’ve come by seeing where I’ve been. I couldn’t have asked for a better motivator to push me forward in my continued journey, and I can’t wait to find hidden gems in the pictures I post as I go.

Next 5K is September 30! 76 days to go!

One thought on “Unexpected Motivation

  1. Pingback: New Goals! | torey stories

Comments are closed.